Cookin’ For The Whole Fam

This weekend my mom gave me some sweet potatoes. She had meant to cook them, but didn’t, so they traveled down to NY with us. Last night, along with our steak and asparagus, I made sweet mashed potatoes.

In a 400 degree oven, I put 6 sweet potatoes on a baking sheet and poked some forks into them to let the steam escape. Put some tin foil down on the baking sheet. Sometimes they “ooze” sweet potato goodness. After 60 minutes, I took them out and let them cool while KJ lit the grill and we started on the steaks. When they had cooled slightly, I cut them in half and scooped out the mashed insides and put them in the food processor. A couple of spins around, and they were ready. I put half in the ice cube tray for Ellie, and with the remainder I added salt, pepper and a little bit of butter. Perfect for mom and dad! Moral of the story; when you cook for you, think if you can save part of it for baby too1

sweet mashies

Now that’s what I call family style cooking!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

