Pastina for My Italian Baby

Pastina is a teeny-tiny little cut of pasta that is perfect for a little toothless baby to swallow. The box that we bought was actually in the shape of little stars. Cute!!

I boiled some water, and poured about 1/4 a cup of pastina in the boiling water. It doesn’t look like much, but it actually does grow a little as it cooks. It doesn’t take long! 6-7 minutes at a rapid bowl, and you can drain it out into a bowl. I mixed 2 tablespoons of pastina into 2 table spoons of sweet potato, but you can really mix it with anything you like! Mix in a little water that it boiled in and some chicken stock, and carrots and you have yourself some baby chicken noodle soup. I think next time around I am going to add a little bit of homemade tomato sauce to give LJ the full effect of her Italian heritage.

I know I will come up with other uses for the pastina. Its a perfect “base” starch. Also, you can just make a little at a time since its always best to have fresh pasta. I boiled enough to just give LJ some lunch and dinner, mixed in with some frozen veggies. What else do you guys think we could add to it??

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Pastina for My Italian Baby

  1. Sounds and looks yummy! I think you could also try ground beef and veggies when she starts eating meats, or also a cream of french beans or peas since the skins that are sometimes hard to get rid of in the food processor can just blend in with the pastina texture – with a little teaspoon of organic colza oil for the Omega 3 brain food.

  2. oh I meant organic resposible agriculture non refined, not genetically modified extra virgin pressed colza oil 🙂 Or any good quality organic extra virgin oil as well!!!

  3. Sara says:

    When I was little my nonna would always make pastina for me. It’s something that I still enjoy to this day! There’s just something about a nice hot, creamy bowl of pastina.

    My nonna’s recipe is super simple:
    Cook pasta until soft (keep a little of the cooking water) drain. Add a tiny bit of milk and the cooking water. Stir in some parmesan chesse. Manga!

    Molto bene!

Leave a Reply

